False accident claims in Nevada: Call an attorney

False accident claims in Nevada: Call an attorney

Car accidents can cause serious injuries, and there is no denying that victims, who have suffered because of someone else’s fault, deserve to get compensated. However, many cases in Nevada are often exaggerated injury claims. This happens when one party decides to file an insurance claim even when they suffered no injuries in an accident. Also, there are cases, when the entire accident has been staged for money alone. If you ever have the misfortune of getting involved in an accident that eventually has a false claim from the other party, you should consider talking to an attorney. Firms like Naqvi Accident Injury Law have helped clients on false accident claims for years, and their expertise is invaluable. Here’s more on what you need to know. 

Steps after an accident

Most people feel shocked and overwhelmed after an accident, which is okay. However, taking the right steps after an accident is important. First things first, call 911 right after an accident, no matter whether someone was injured or not. Do not trust other drivers involved in the accident to talk you out of calling the police.  Sometimes, although rare, the police may not respond immediately, but even in that case, you have a record of making that important call to 911. Also, check if someone needs medical attention and ensure that they get help. 

Know your rights

The police officer at the site may have some role in determining fault, but that is not the final word. In fact, if an officer was not present when the accident happened, their opinion will be considered only to a certain extent. In most cases, insurance companies do their part of the investigation to determine fault, because they wouldn’t want to pay for every claim that comes to them. They need to be sure to ensure that false claims are not entertained.  You are required to cooperate with your insurance company’s investigation. Among other things, do inform your insurer of the accident and let them know about what you think of fault. 

Talking to an attorney

In any cases, it is wise to talk to an experienced personal injury attorney, especially for accidents that don’t have a clear fault. You wouldn’t want to eventually pay for a lawsuit that was never your fault in the first place. Your lawyer will advise on all relevant aspects, including how you can avoid the trap of paying a settlement for a claim that’s probably a result of a staged accident. 

The Current Insurance Requirements

Under car accident law, the first attempt to get compensation for the victim’s expenses is to file an insurance claim through the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier. The current laws require all drivers to have an insurance policy that provides $25,000 in bodily injuries for each person with a maximum of $50,000 for the entire accident. It must also offer at least $25,000 for property damage incurred during the accident. If the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance, the only option to collect is to file a civil lawsuit against them.

What To Do After An Accident

After an auto accident, it is necessary to contact law enforcement to get an investigation into what happened. The officers will question all the parties involved in the accident and pinpoint the at-fault driver. They create an accident report that defines what happened, who cause the accident, and all parties involved. The drivers must send a copy of the report to all their insurance carriers, and the victim can use the accident report as evidence in their civil claim.

What You Need for An Accident Claim

For the accident claim, the victim needs all medical records that detail their injuries sustained in the accident. The records will show how severe their injuries are. Next, they need invoices from their doctors to show the exact cost of all medical treatments. If they have ongoing requirements for their injuries, the doctor can provide an estimate of the costs. If they lost wages, they will need statements from their employer to show exactly how much they have lost while recovering.

They will need to get at least three estimates for their auto repair costs. The court will want to review the estimates before they award any money for these expenses. The repair costs must be for the damage caused in the accident, and it cannot be for any other damage. The court will require pictures of the auto damage, too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *